Active: Indicates that a project is ongoing at the present time.
On-Hold: Indicates that a project's starting date is still in the future or that its owner has, temporarily, stopped work on it. All active tasks will be put On Hold automatically.
Cancelled: Indicates that a project has been permanently cancelled. All tasks open will be cancelled as well.
Closed: Indicates a project is done and no more tasks will be added to it.